KACM Awards & Recognition

Click here to nominate someone

It’s awards season! Nominate a local government manager and/or administrator who deserves recognition for a job well done. Awardees will be announced at the KACM’s Annual Conference. See the following for an explanation of award categories and submission details to come:

  • Buford Watson, Jr. Award for Excellence in Public Management – This award is given each year by KACM to a local government manager who has displayed the attributes of the late Buford M. Watson, Jr. (former City Manager of Lawrence, KS) which includes serving as a role model in dealing with constituents, valuing customer satisfaction and encouraging new members of the profession. List of previous recipients.
    Eligibility: Any member of the Kansas Association of City/County Management (KACM) who is currently working in an administrative capacity in Kansas is eligible for nomination. No current officer or member of the Board of Directors of the KACM may be considered for this particular award.
  • Early Career Excellence Award – This award was established in 2013. The purpose of this award is to recognize early career local government professionals working in Kansas who demonstrate excellence in the profession and strong promise to positively impact the profession. The award is intended for early career professionals ranging from intern stage through the first five years of one’s career. Award recipient must be an active KACM member. List of previous recipients.

  • Career Achievement Award – The Career Achievement Award was established in 2000 and is intended to recognize those professional local government managers and administrators who are retiring from the profession. List of previous recipients.

  • Innovation Award – This award was for members who developed new and innovative programs or services for their communities. In 2018, this award was suspended due to lack of applications for the past several years and because the League of Kansas Municipalities recently began its own award to recognize innovations in its member cities. List of previous recipients.